EVENTS

Featuring

Eddie Griffin @ The Funny Bone

March 6th-7th

* Eddie aggressively and successfully travels nationwide with comedic performances/shows. His comedy and music careers are of their own!
* Eddie’s film resume includes: UNDERCOVER BROTHER, DEUCE BIGALOW: MALE GIGOLO and its sequel DEUCE BIGALOW: EUROPEAN GIGOLO, DATE MOVIE, SCARY MOVIE 3, REDLINE, MY BABY’S DADDY, JOHN Q. and ARMAGEDDON. And of course, there was DYSFUNKTIONAL FAMILY which debuted at the Sundance Film Festival.
* Eddie has formed his own independent record label, BLUELIGHT RECORDS. An accomplished musician, Griffin is also a member of his own band, ECLECTIC DIVINITY.

Chris Porter @ The Funny Bone

March 12th-15th

* Best known for his third place finish on the season 4 of Last Comic Standing, Chris Porter has been a touring comic since he was 23.
* Chris has been a stand-up comedian for the past 8 years; recently seen on Comedy Central's Live Tour and heard on such radio shows as the Bob and Tom Show.
* Chris appeared on Comedy Central's Live at Gotham in 2006.
* When not in Los Angeles, Chris performs around the country, spreading his wealth of Midwest knowledge to those who seek it.

Kegs & Eggs @ Bar Louie

Saturday the 14th from 8 am to 11 am

Bar Louie is hosting our annual Kegs & Eggs event the morning of Saturday the 14th from 8am to 11am at $10 per ticket. Kegs & Eggs includes a delicious breakfast buffet and Bar Louie green t-shirt.

St Patrick's Day @ Bar Louie

Saturday the 14th thru St Patrick's Day

And we’ll have some great live entertainment on Saturday to help keep the party going! We will also be featuring everyone’s favorite Irish adult beverages. Guests can enjoy $4 Green Beers starting Saturday, March 14th through St. Patrick’s Day. Additionally, $5 shots of Killbegan and $6 Irish Car Bombs on both Saturday the 14th & Tuesday the 17th.

St. Patrick’s Day at The Pub DETAILS

Tuesday, March 17th 8:30 am – 2:00 am

Opening at 8:30 am for Kegs & Eggs

Enjoy Irish food, live entertainment and drink specials.

http://www.experiencethepub.com/beavercreek/st-patricks-day

BOOK GROUPS MEET AT BOOKS & CO

March 17th @ 7p; March 19th & 26th @ 11a; March 23rd @ 7p; March 29th @ 2p

These book groups will meet at Books & Co. at the Greene, 4453 Walnut Street, Beavercreek.

Tuesday, March 17; 7 pm
Tuesday Writers will discuss each other’s work.

Thursday, March 19 & 26; 11 am
Daytime Knitters knit and discuss knitting books & magazines

Monday, March 23; 7 pm
Classics Book Group will discuss Richard II by William Shakespeare

Sunday, March 29; 2-3:30 pm
Antioch Writers Workshop will give an information Session about their 30th annual Summer Program in Yellow Springs, Ohio. Learn more about the program from board and staff at this casual Q&A session

All groups welcome new members. For more information, please contact Sharon Kelly Roth at 937-429-6302.

BESTSELLING KIDS AUTHOR TO VISIT BOOKS & CO

Wednesday, March 18 at 7 pm

Peter Lerangis, New York Times bestselling author of the Seven Wonders Series, will introduce Book 4, The Curse of the King, on Wednesday, March 18 at 7 pm at Books & Co. at the Greene, 4453 Walnut Street, Beavercreek.
This fast-paced tween series about friends on a quest to unlock the secrets of the ancient world comes to life like a movie and is perfect for fans of Indiana Jones and Percy Jackson. Outnumbered and underequipped, Jack, Cass, and Aly have managed to defeat the Colossus of Rhodes, hunted through Ancient Babylon, and outfoxed legions of undead, but now they must figure out how to save themselves from a power that threatens to overwhelm them and destroy the world.
Peter Lerangis has written more than 165 books, which have sold over 5 1/2 million copies and been translated into 35 languages. Among his books are four in The 39 Clues Series (The Sword Thief, The Viper’s Nest, Vespers Rising, and The Dead of Night). The other books in the Seven Wonders Series are: The Colossus Rises, Lost in Babylon, and The Tomb of Shadows.
For an interview, please contact Lindsey Karl at 212-207-7492 or Lindsey.Karl@harpercollins.com. For addition event information, please contact Sharon Kelly Roth at 937-429-6302.

Steve Trevino @ The Funny Bone

March 19th-22nd

* South Texas native Steve Treviño is fast becoming one of the country’s hottest comics.
* Treviño's "Tex-Mex" style of comedy is a fresh voice for the 21st Century Mexican-American, earning him regular slots on Despierta America, Que Locos and The Latino Laugh Festival.
* He also wrote on Mind of Mencia and produced and wrote on rapper Pit Bull’s La Esquina. Most recently Treviño landed in the Nielsen Top 20, with his Showtime comedy special, Grandpa Joe's Son.

Easter Bunny Hours @ The Greene

March 20 – April 4

Mon – Sat – 12p – 8p
Sun 12p-6p

Extended hours:
Sat 3/28 10am – 9pm
Fri & Sat (4/3 & 4/4) 10am – 9pm

Location: Juniper Way next to Clark's

GEORGE HODGMAN DISCUSSES HIS MEMOIR, BETTYVILLE @ Books & Co

Wednesday, March 25 at 7 pm

George Hodgman, veteran magazine and book editor, will discuss his memoir, Bettyville, on Wednesday, March 25 at 7 pm at Books & Co. at the Greene, 4453 Walnut Street, Beavercreek.

In it, he tells of his leaving a busy career in Manhattan to return to his childhood home in Paris, Missouri to care for his mother, Betty, who is suffering from dementia. While he feels unprepared to care for her at home, he can’t bring himself to put her in an institution. So begins their journey together: Betty, at once courageous, headstrong, and vulnerable, and George, trying to be the good prodigal son.

Underpinning their relationship is the fact that Betty has not fully accepted the fact that George is gay nor the difficulties he had growing up gay in rural America years earlier. It’s a “beautifully crafted story of secrets, silences and enduring love that is simultaneously hilarious and heartwarming.”

Bettyville has been chosen as Books-A-Million President’s Pick for March. Alison Bechdel raves, “As George and his mother come to terms with one another at the end of her days, the book begins to shimmer with something much more rare than love: a boundless, transcendent, and simple kindness.”

For an interview, please contact Lindsey Prevette at 212-366-2224 or lprevette@penguinrandomhouse.com. For additional books&co event information, please contact Sharon Kelly Roth at 937-429-6302 or rothsk@booksandco.com.

John Henton @ The Funny Bone

March 26th-29th

* John is best known for his roles as Overton Wakefield Jones on the Fox Network sitcom “Living Single” and as Milsap Morris on the ABC/UPN sitcom “The Hughleys.”
* John was the winner of the Johnny Walker National Comedy Search.
* Henton has made appearances on the “Arsenio Hall Show” and “Bob Hope’s Young Comedian’s Special” and “The Tonight Show with Jay Leno.”

KIDS AUTHOR TO VISIT BOOKS & CO

Saturday, March 28 at 1 pm

Chris Grabenstein, author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncelle’s Library, will introduce his new book for young readers, The Island of Dr. Libris, on Saturday, March 28 at 1 pm at Books & Co. at The Greene, 4453 Walnut Street, Beavercreek.

In the book, we learn that twelve-year-old Billy Gillfoyle is stuck spending the entire summer in an old lakeside cabin owned by the enigmatic Dr. Libris. There’s something odd about this place, maybe even a little spooky. Strangest of all is Dr. Libris’s dusty study, full of the wildest stories Billy’s ever read. And whenever Billy opens the books in the study, he’s sure he can hear strange sounds coming from the mysterious island in the middle of the lake. Are the characters in the stories calling him? Are they coming to Life?

Chris Grabenstein is co-author with James Patterson of the #1 bestselling series Funny and Treasure Hunters. He is a playwright, screen writer and improvisational comedian and he has also written for Jim Henson’s Muppets.

For an interview, please contact Lydia Finn at 212-572-6014 or lfinn@penguinrandomhouse.com. For additional event information, please contact Sharon Kelly Roth at 937-429-6302 or rothsk@booksandco.com.

NOTED SPORTS WRITER HAL MCCOY INTRODUCES HIS MEMOIR AT BOOKS & CO

Tuesday, March 31 at 7 pm

Dayton Daily News legendary sportswriter Hal McCoy will discuss his memoir, The Real McCoy: My Half-Century with The Cincinnati Reds, on Tuesday, March 31 at 7 pm at Books & Co. at The Greene, 4453 Walnut Street, Beavercreek.

He gives the fans an in-side-the-dugout look at what never made the daily press: the politics, the personalities, the hi-jinks, the x-rated scenes – all the classic ballpark happenings known only to those on the field. In short, it’s the complete scoop from a sportswriter who led a charmed life and, even when faced with his own failing eyesight, managed to keep his life intact and still see more than the rest of us.

The Real McCoy is one of the most readable – and revealing – books about baseball ever written.

For an interview, please contact Sarah Hawley at 937-382-3196 or sarah@orangefrazer.com. For additional information about books&co events, please contact Sharon Kelly Roth at 937-429-6302 or roth@booksandco.com.

Click It or Ticket Kickoff @ The Greene Town Square

Friday May 15th 2015; 10 am – 12pm

The Click It or Ticket Kickoff event is hosted by the Greene County Safe Communities Coalition to bring attention to the National Highway Traffic Safety Click It or Ticket campaign. This campaign takes places every year between May 9th and June 1st to encourage enforcement of seat belt use laws. Local law enforcement will be at the event and press will be invited to speak with them about the campaign. Additionally, other safety promoting vendors will be invited to attend. There will be a crashed vehicle for visual effect and use of Fatal Vision goggles for hands-on experience.